Power Play Year End Awards

Carson Vittorio
Dec 11, 2018

196

6

LOGIN RESULTS RANKINGS CALENDAR TEAMS COVERAGE DISCUSS REGISTRATION MORE





29 more...

WHAT TO READ NEXT

TAGGED ATHLETES

Alice Abbott



He's Back!... Soren Returns To College and Running

Dec 24, 2018



Former IL Preps Success At Early Bird Meets

Dec 20, 2018



Top Returning Boys 100m Speedsters For 2019 Is Here

Dec 23, 2018



Tony's Take Top Video Moment of 2018: #7 Quincy Scott

Dec 26, 2018



Premium Boys Individual 25: State Championship Edition

Oct 31, 2018

Boys Runner of The Year

1st Josh Methner (Jr., Arlington Heights [Hersey]) (7 first place votes)

Methner was the most consistent runner in Illinois during the regular season. The junior only lost once and it was the first race of the year to **Rory Cavan** of Glenbard West at the Fenton Early Bird Invite. Cavan's win came with controversy, as Methner took a wrong turn during the race thereby losing some ground on Cavan. But Methner had some huge wins throughout the rest of the season, including wins at the Richard Spring Invite, the Palatine "Meet of Champions" Invite, the MSL Championship, and Hoffman Estates Regionals and Sectionals. His performance at the MOC invite may have been his best all year as he defeated the defending Palatine "Meet of Champions" Boys champion **Tommy Brady** of Maine South by ten seconds and running a new course record time of 14:32.2.

As Methner entered the state series it seemed as if he was doing only what he needed to do, conserving energy and merely advancing, until the state meet where he was locked into an amazing battle with Brady. The two ran the race side by side breaking off from the pack about a mile and a half into the race. They were together until about 200 meters out from the finish where Methner decided to go for it and put six seconds on Brady with a 14:11.50 to win his first state title. Congrats to Methner as he is the 2018 Milesplit IL Illinois Boys Runner of The Year.

Other nominees: 2nd Mathias Powell (Sr., Mahomet-Seymour) (1 first place vote), 3rd Rory Cavan